Baking Heaven…Part 2


Saturday morning I indulged in a simple, but amazingly delicious buttered pecan oatmeal. When I woke up on Sunday, my first thought was how to top my great breakfast from the day before. And since I needed a consolation prize for losing an hour of sleep, I decided to make blueberry muffins. As I was pulling out the ingredients for the muffins, I realized I had some leftover cream cheese from the pound cake. I grabbed that too, thinking if the cream cheese can make the pound cake moist, it will really give the muffins an added richness!

1 Cup Fresh or Frozen Wild Blueberries
4 Ounces Cream Cheese, Softened
2 Cups Flour
3/4 Cup Sugar
1/2 Teaspoon Baking Soda
1 1/2 Teaspoon Baking Powder
2 Teaspoons Lemon Juice
3 Teaspoons Vanilla Extract
1/4 Cup Melted Butter
1/2 Cup Milk
2 Eggs
Smidgen of Salt
A Good Handful of Walnuts

Preheat oven to 400.

In a small bowl, toss 1/2 cup of the flour and the blueberries together. Set this aside. Blend together the cream cheese, vanilla and lemon juice in a mixer. While this is mixing, sift together the flour, sugar, baking soda and baking powder. Put this mixture aside and add the eggs to the cream cheese mixture. Continue mixing until the eggs are blended into the cream cheese mixture.

Put the mixer on the lowest setting and slowly add the flour mixture. Be careful because the mixture will thicken quickly! Once all of the flour is in, add the butter and milk and increase the speed by one setting. Once this is all well blended, remove the bowl from the stand mixer. Fold in the blueberries and walnuts (the amount of nuts you add is a personal preference…I love a lot of nuts in my muffins, so I added quite a bit). Place about 3/4 cup of batter in paper lined muffin tins. The batter is enough to make about 12 nice sized muffins. Bake for 15-20 minutes and eat as soon as they come out (well, let them cool a bit so as to avoid burning the roof of your mouth…I learned this the hard way). The muffins were quite delicious, especially with a cup of tea and the Sunday morning political shows (I already mentioned I was a geek, so that last part shouldn’t surprise you).

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

