Mama’s Mayonnaise Biscuits

I now have a new cookbook crush and it’s “Bon Appetit, Y’all”, my prize for the Cookthink Bourbon Rootsource Challenge. Virginia Willis is a culinary genius and her book highlights not only her formal culinary training but her Southern roots. But when I actually sat down this weekend and read through the book, my heart practically stopped when I saw the recipe for Mama’s Mayonnaise Biscuits. Not only did the photographs look just like my favorite rolls from a restaurant in Statesboro, they had MAYONNAISE in them!

These were super quick to make, but yet taste like they were an effort. Remember that commercial back in the day (showing my age here) where the woman’s making Rice Krispy treats and she acts like she’s slaving in the kitchen? Yes my friends, that can be you with this recipe. Six ingredients, one bowl and 15 minutes of baking time equals fresh biscuits. Uhmmm, and there’s mayonnaise in them!

I had to adapt these slightly because I didn’t have self rising flour, but they came out just as pretty as the pictures in the cookbook.

Adapted from Bon Appetit, Y’all

2 cups all purpose flour

3 teaspoons baking powder

3 tablespoons mayonnaise

1 cup whole milk

1 teaspoon sugar

1 teaspoon salt

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

In a mixing bowl, combine all of the ingredients. Stir until a sticky dough is formed. Grease a 12 cup muffin tin and drop a heaping tablespoon into each cup. Bake the rolls for approximately 20 minutes or until the tops are golden brown.

12 Comments

Filed under Bread

12 responses to “Mama’s Mayonnaise Biscuits

  1. I’m going to make those. Does it have to be whole?

  2. I saw this cookbook last weekend and was wondering if it was worth the money. Can’t wait to try these biscuits!

  3. So which restaurant in Statesboro? My guess is Fordham’s Farmhouse.

  4. Liz – The recipe calls for whole…but try any milk (not canned or powdered).

    Rebecca – The cookbook reminds me a lot of my grandmother’s cooking, so it’s definitely holding a special place in my heart.

    Jonathan – I was thinking of the Beaver House. I graduated from GSU back in 1998, so I’m sure a lot has changed since then in Statesboro. Before I left they had just passed liquor by the drink, so restaurants were popping up everywhere. I want to go back and see how much it’s changed sometime soon!

  5. So glad you enjoyed the book! I’ll have to pick up a copy for myself – the biscuits sound delightful. Thanks again for entering the Root Source Challenge, and I hope you’ll be sending in more recipes for future challenges.

  6. I love the photos! These look fantastic, I will be trying this recipe.

  7. Erin

    Oh my gosh!!! I’m so glad you posted this! I have been making these for years (my mom gave me the recipe) and every time I tell people what is in them they cringe but once they try them the LOVE them! I don’t even like mayonnaise and these are my favorite rolls! Thank you! Thank YOU for spreading the word (and the love).

  8. I love how simple yet perfect these are. I might experiment with a dash of garlic salt. Great recipe!

  9. Claire – The book is fantastic and I’ve already submitted an entry for the strawberry challenge! Fingers crossed!

    Catherine – Thanks for the snaps on the photos…still on a learning curve with photography, so I’m always happy to hear someone likes them 🙂

    Erin – I’m not a huge mayo fan myself, but something about the recipe spoke to me and now I’m a total convert!!!! So I am happily spreading the word 🙂

    Sharon – those sound like great additions. I was going to add some cheese next time. Let me know how your experimentations work out!

  10. They’re really intriguing, I must try them.

  11. I made these biscuits for this month’s Taste & Create. Hope you like them.

Leave a comment